Categories
Products Tips, Tricks & Tutorials

Things to know about RPC Content and Revit 2013

Revit 2013, image courtesy Autodesk, Inc.
While your overall day-to-day workflow won’t change with Revit 2013, you will find you are able to view RPC content with Realistic Visual Style Views using the new Material User Interface (MUI). The new MUI was recently profiled by Dan Stine in AECbytes and is definitely worth a read.
Things to know:

  • RPC content in realistic visual style views will not export to DWG. Use a non-realistic visual style when exporting RPC content to DWG.
  • RPC content will display both back and front of the intended image in the Realistic visual style if the Cast Reflections type parameter is turned on. Turn this parameter off to view properly.
  • RPC Content Drag & Drop is not enabled.*
    Want to try RPC in Revit 2013? Start a free trial of Revit through Autodesk and free trial of RPC with ArchVision Dashboard.
    *Unfortunately, Autodesk Revit 2013 did not enable RPC Content Drag & Drop. However, ArchVision’s development team is working on an alternative to enable Drag & Drop from ArchVision Dashboard into Revit scenes. This will behave similarly to the Drag & Drop behaviors available to 3ds Max and AutoCAD users. We will continue to keep you updated on the progress of this feature.

  • 14 replies on “Things to know about RPC Content and Revit 2013”

    Actually workflows have changed; when you import a REVIT model into MAX the RPCs come in as little blue boxes… Cost me a couple days work and a whole bunch of money. I am not a happy camper.

    Hi Steve, We are sorry to learn of your experience and will share this with the Autodesk team. During release cycle of 3ds Max 2013 we were advised by Autodesk that this issue will be resolved as a user ‘hotfix’ as soon as practical. While it doesn’t resolve the interruption in your workflow, we have contacted our partner for a status update.

    Actually workflows have changed; when you import a REVIT model into MAX the RPCs come in as little blue boxes… Cost me a couple days work and a whole bunch of money. I am not a happy camper.

    Hi Steve, We are sorry to learn of your experience and will share this with the Autodesk team. During release cycle of 3ds Max 2013 we were advised by Autodesk that this issue will be resolved as a user ‘hotfix’ as soon as practical. While it doesn’t resolve the interruption in your workflow, we have contacted our partner for a status update.

    We had calls with the Autodesk teams on this last week for an update from them. While they are actively working on it, this bug still remains.

    We had calls with the Autodesk teams on this last week for an update from them. While they are actively working on it, this bug still remains.

    Comments are closed.